In Tennessee, domestic assault involves an assault on a family or household member. That includes:
- A current or former husband or wife.
- Someone living in the same home or a person who previously resided with the accused.
- A current or former girlfriend or boyfriend of the accused.
- A blood relative or adopted family member.
- Someone currently or formerly related by marriage.
If there is serious bodily injury, strangulation, or if a weapon is used during the commission of the offense, a defendant can face felony aggravated domestic violence charges.
Misdemeanor domestic violence is the assault of a domestic abuse victim, which can be intentional or reckless conduct.
These are serious charges that require the expertise of a knowledgeable lawyer. James R. Owen will make sure you have the best defense.
Penalties for Domestic Assault in Tennessee
The penalties for domestic assault in Tennessee are the same as those for general assault crimes.
Aggravated Domestic Assault is a Class C or Class D felony. A Class C felony conviction carries a sentence of between 3-15 years in prison and a fine of up to $10,000. A Class D felony conviction can result in 2-12 year in prison and a fine of up to $5000.
Misdemeanor domestic violence carries up to eleven (11) months and twenty-nine (29) days in jail and a fine up to $5000. Second offense misdemeanor domestic violence carries a mandatory minimum of thirty (30) days in jail. Third or subsequent offense carries a mandatory minimum of ninety (90) days in jail.
In addition to the penalties listed above, a conviction for domestic violence will result in a lifetime prohibition to possess a firearm and other restrictions. The judge will likely also order a defendant to pay restitution for any property damage or medical bills, and to complete a batter’s intervention program as well as a drug and alcohol assessment and treatment.
If you are facing assault charges, you need a lawyer with the experience to protect your rights. Contact James R. Owen to fight for you.
FREE LEGAL CONSULTATION
If you have been accused of a crime, we want to talk to you. If you have a court date scheduled, please provide that information.