Driving Under the Influence (DUI) Is a serious crime:
DUI carries mandatory jail time and fines ranging from three hundred fifty dollars ($350.00) to fifteen thousand dollars ($15,000.00). If you are arrested and charged with DUI, the officer can demand that you submit to a blood, breath and/or urine test. If you refuse the test, you could lose your license for a year or more.
Your first call should be to an experienced DUI lawyer you can trust:
In Tennessee, a DUI conviction can be based on a per se blood alcohol level of .08% or higher. The per se legal blood alcohol limit is lower for commercial drivers at .04%, and drivers under the age of 21 at .02%.
In circumstances where there is no blood or breath test, the state of Tennessee may try to prove your guilt based on other evidence such as patrol car video tapes or the officer’s opinion as to how you performed on a field sobriety test.
You can also be charged with driving under the influence of drugs, even legally prescribed medications that you are taking as directed by your doctor.
You need an experienced DUI lawyer who can defend you on the many different types of DUI Cases:
If you are convicted, you face mandatory minimum penalties. Those minimum penalties for conviction of a first offense include:
- 48 hours in jail
- 11 months and 29 days on probation
- Loss of driver’s license for 1 year
- 12 hours of DUI School
If you have had a previous DWI/DUI conviction, the mandatory penalties are more severe and threaten every area of your life, including your ability to obtain work. In some circumstances, a multiple offense DUI conviction can carry a fifteen (15) year prison sentence. This is not a case you can handle alone.
James R. Owen has the knowledge and experience to defend you.
FREE LEGAL CONSULTATION
If you have been accused of a crime, we want to talk to you. If you have a court date scheduled, please provide that information.